Erasmus+ is the largest European Union programme in the field of education, training, youth and sport. The programme covers the period from 2014 to 2020 and offers numerous opportunities for students, young people, staff, educational institutions and organizations involved in education, training and sports.

In Croatia the programme is performed by the Agency for Mobility and EU Programmes (

The Erasmus+ programme replaces the previous seven programmes (Lifelong Learning Programme [Erasmus, Leonardo da Vinci, Comenius and Grundtvig], Youth in Action, Erasmus Mundus, Tempus, Alfa, Edulink and Programme of cooperation with industrialized countries).

Erasmus+ is performed through three key activities:

KA1 – Mobility for the purpose of learning for individuals (Learning Mobility) – mobility of individuals (students and non-teaching staff) for the purpose of studying and upgrading

  1. Mobility for the purpose of staying for a period of study abroad for the purpose of study or traineeship (Credit mobility). Performed at all three levels undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate study (Bachelor/Master/Doctorate). This group includes also mobility of the teaching and non-teaching staff for the purpose of teaching and/or vocational training.
  2. Mobility for the purpose of acquiring higher education qualification through combined studies (Degree mobility).
  3. Guarantee for loans for graduate students (Student loan guarantee) – students in higher education from partner countries can apply as part of the programme for a loan for the graduate study abroad.

KA2 – Cooperation for innovation and exchange of good practices (Cooperation) – cooperation for the purpose of innovations and exchange of good practice (cooperation with economic entities)

  1. Erasmus Strategic Partnerships – development of initiatives in one or several areas of education, training of the young and promotion of innovations, exchange of experiences and knowledge among different types of organizations included in education, training and youth or in other relevant areas.
  2. Knowledge Alliances – strategic partnerships of higher education institutions and enterprises for the purpose of promoting innovations, creativity, and entrepreneurship through new possibilities for learning and acquiring qualifications.
  3. Sector Skills Alliances – supporting, development and provision of common curricula, programmes and methods of learning and teaching for vocational education.
  4. Competence Enhancement Projects – supporting cooperation with partner countries in the areas of education and the young with the aim of strengthening the competences and support of organizations, institutions and systems in their process of modernization and internationalization.
  5. Platforms for IT support, such as E-Twinning, European Platform for Adult Learning (EPALE) and European Youth Portal.

KA3 – Support for Policy reform

  1. knowledge in the field of education, training and youth for the adoption of evidence-based policies and monitoring within the Europe 2020 frame.
  2. initiatives for innovations in the area of policies – promotion of innovative policies among the stakeholders and enabling public authorities to examine the efficiency of innovation policies.
  3. support to European policy tools – to facilitate the transparency and recognition of skills and qualifications and transfer of credits, to encourage quality assurance, support of evaluating non-formal and informal learning, management of skills and advice.
  4. cooperation with international organizations of recognized expertise and analytical competences in order to enhance the impact and added value of the policies in the areas of education, training and the youth.
  5. dialogue with stakeholders, promotion of policies and programmes with public bodies, service providers and stakeholders in the area of education, training and youth important for raising awareness about the strategies of Europe in higher education and about the external dimension of education, training and youth policies in the EU.

The European Commission is responsible for implementing the Erasmus+ Programme, and the centralized activities of the programme are under the authority of the Education, Audio-visual Policy and Cultural Executive Agency (EACEA), whereas the decentralized activities are under the jurisdiction of the Agency for Mobility and EU Programmes (AMPEU).

Additional information can be found on AMPEU website and the website of the European Commission.